Allow Nasarawa North to produce the Next Governor of the state to contribute their quarter in the state development . These were the words of Chun mada.

“Give Us A Chance To Contribute To State’s Development”, Chun Mada Reiterates Appeal For Nasarawa North To Produce Al-Makura’ Successor come 2019.


The Chun Mada, HRH Dr. Samson Gamu Yare III, has appealed to other zones to give Nasarawa-north also the opportunity to contribute to the development of the state by producing the next governor in 2019. Nasarawa-north is the only district yet to produce a governor since the creation of the state in 1996.

Yare made the call during a thanksgiving service held at the Prevailing Faith Ministries, Jos, the Plateau State Capital to offer thanks to God for sustainable Grace to the Mada people residing in Plateau State on Sunday, 10 December.


The first class traditional disclosed that the focus of the traditional rulers in Nasarawa North is to appeal that others zone in Nasarawa State support the zone to produce Governor Umaru Tanko Al-Makura’ successor in 2019.

He therefore, called for concerted prayers by the people for the actualization of this dream which according to him would deepened the existing peace and unity.

“We have consistently supported other zones in the state, and it would be just and fair that they support us produce the next governor in our state. We cannot continue to occupy the position of the Deputy Governor when we too, have qualified politicians who can also govern Nasarawa State.


“We plead with other zones in the state to give us a chance to contribute to the development of Nasarawa State,” the Chun Mada said.

Prominent Mada sons and Daughters who attended the event include: Barr. Joshua Barrau, Barr. Mamman Jakonda, Arc Gyoube Allu, Group Capt. Rabo Zakka, Group Capt. Goni Doji, Mrs Dandaura, Mrs Victoria Minchakpu, Mrs Angelina Tyem, and many more.

Barrister Joshua Barrau, Chairman, Jos Mada Elders’ Forum (Lunku), welcomed all to the event and prayed that all would blessed by the event. Barrister Mamman Jakonda gave the vote of thanks on behalf of Mada people in Jos at end of the event.

The opposition All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) had some months ago zoned its gubernatorial seat to the district in the interest of justice, fairness and equity which the party symbolises. Precisely Four (4) months after, the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) also zoned its ticket to the district.

According to information a caucus of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) with the governor’s backing has shortlisted (4) aspirants from the zone to secure the ticket in 2018. The aspirants as we reliably learnt are Engr. Abdullahi A. Sule (Akwanga), Alh. Suleiman Musa Nagogo (Wamba), Hon. Godiya Akwashiki (N/Eggon) and lastly immediate past Executive Secretary of the National Judicial Commission (NJC) who is also from N/Eggon local government area of the state. Others from the zone who have also joined the race are Alh. Zakari Abdullahi Idde, and Hon. Ali Silas Agara (Deputy Governor).

From the western zone we have Hon. Aliyu Ahmed Wadada, Comr. Musa Mohammed Maikaya, Hon. Ishaq Kana, Arc. Shehu A. Tukur, Hon. Muhammad Jafaru and Engr. Hassan Muhammad Lawal.


Source:Nasarawa mirror 

1 comment

What do you have to say?