APC Engr.A.A Sule wins Nasarawa Governorship election

Engr. A. A Sule of the All Progressive Congress APC has been declared winner of the March 9th Governorship election in Nasarawa State.

The pronouncement was made Sunday night at the INEC office in Lafia amidst tight security and watch of party Agents.

Engr  A .A Sule polled at total number of 338,811 votes to defeat Davematic David Ombugadu of the PDP who got 182,972 votes and Labaran Maku of APGA with 127,084 votes also the defeated was the candidate of ZLP Umaru Doma who got  10,879 vtoes.

Prof. Abdullahi Bala, Returning Officer for the election, announced Sule as governor-elect on Monday in Lafia after the collation of results from the 13 local government areas of the state.

He said 686,303 voters were accredited and 681,400 cast their ballots during the election.

Bala further explained that 670,879 of the votes cast were valid while 10,521 were rejected.

The result indicated that APC won in 11 out of the 13 local government areas of the state while Maku of APGA won in Nasarawa Eggon Area and Umar Aliyu Doma of Zenith Labour Party won in Doma local government Area while David Ombugadu did not win any local government.

Meanwhile, the collation agent of the PDP, Yakubu Dauda refused to sign the result.

According to him, there were several complaints brought by his party to INEC over the conduct of the exercise but were ignored.

On his part, Aliyu Bello, the APC agent said the outcome of the election was not surprising given the track record of the party in the state under Gov. Umaru Al-Makura

“The result of the election is a payback by the people of the state for the great work done by Al-Makura and the APC,” he said.


1 comment

What do you have to say?